Wednesday, November 18, 2009
More on the mad thyroid
I wen to the local (meaning 20min bus ride) endocrinology specialist yesterday to hear more about the radioactive tests I've done last week. Once I got there, they did some routine thing where they weigh me, measure my blood pressure etc, and after nearly 3 weeks of non-stop eating of heaps of sometimes fatty and junky food, I didn't gain even a single pound, and am still just below 102 pounds (I had eaten a whole footlong sub before I got there though). Wasn't sure if that was a good thing or not, and after filling in some forms and waiting for 5 mins, I went in to talk with the specialist. He went straight into the test results, and it turns out I have thyroiditis, which is not a clinical disease that I have to take medicine for the rest of my life, but an inflammation of thyroids. There are some more serious ones like Hashimoto's thyroiditis, but the doctor said my case wasn't as severe as it could be. And not loosing any more weight is definitely a good sign. Good news indeed, because this means that my thyroid problem is not going to last forever. But a downside of that is that I don't get to go under any treatment program, but the best thing to do is to ride it out. This was a little disappointing because lately I found myself unable to do much other than being in a constant state of tiredness + muscle pain + irritated + foggy brain + unbelievably forgetful + unmotivated to do the pile of work I have to do. I guess the doctor is right for not putting me on any thyroid hormone controlling medicine (he said it will make things worse at the start anyways), and he said I should eat well and rest, like I didn't know already. I guess the nature of this thing being nothing more than my body "overworking" and making me feel like I ran a complete marathon the day before every single day, it is not something to worry too much about. Good, I don't ever want to make this a big deal, but sometimes it is rather annoying that everyone says "you just need to take it easy" or "you should sleep/eat more". I'm doing all of that already but still feeling spent. All I can tell myself is that only few more weeks and I'll be home resting in the sun, then it will alllll be better.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment