My midterm is FINALLY over (just in time for the finals in 4 weeks)!!! to celebrate what will be a short-lived freedom, I went to the uni gym for the first time today (at 10pm). It is about twice the size of the bodytech, plus 2 swimming halls, 3 basketball courts and 2 squash rooms, and an indoor track around the whole thing. Ooh was going to find out if they had hot pool or sauna but forgot... So after 3 months of muscle to fat transformation, I finally worked out for real and it feels sooooooooo energizing. I think this will do me good not just for the fitness-wise but in keep me upbeat and energized. I'm also looking into this Karate class near my apartment, but the flier that was on the CS notice board is gone, so I have to wait until they put it up again. Yeah... I definitely can do with a bit of moving ;)
And on a completely unrelated note, US had its presidential election on Tuesday, and although I am usually not opinionated in politics, I have to say I am somewhat drawn to the whole process. Like I read somewhere, I find Obama's win somewhat emotional - not because I'm sad that he won (I think he was the better choice of the two leading candidates) but because I think it shows that Americans are in fact capable of changes. I remember a movie-review making a big deal out of Morgan Freeman playing the first ever on-screen African-American president in "Deep Impact", saying that Americans will never be able to elect a African-American president in the real life. But look what happened! Now, as a foreigner in the US, I probably have other things I need to know before I can say I am completely happy about Obama's win (like Korean-American FTA, Beef trading etc), but I hope he will be remembered in the history not just as the first African-American president but as something like African-American equivalent of Lincoln or something by doing something good.. like undoing the damages of his predecessor, do something about global warming and stuff like that. Well, people call Illinois the land of Lincoln and Obama is the senator of the state, so who knows ;)
So... that was my two cents on the politics of our current time @_@ not sure if I said what I meant to say, but the point is, Obama's win is an event that is worth celebrating even by a politically uninterested/uneducated person like me...
No comments:
Post a Comment